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EXPLANATORY DOCUMENT 

 
During the 2013 legislative session the legislature made changes to the “Voter ID Law” (RSA 659:13). This explanatory 
document is required under RSA 652:26 to help educate the public about the law’s requirements and application and outlines 
the law’s requirements. 
 
What type of ID will I need to vote? 
 

• Driver’s license issued by any state or federal government; 
• Non-driver ID card issued by NH DMV or motor vehicle agency of another state; 
• Photo ID card for “voting identification only” issued by NH DMV (RSA 260:21); 
• United States armed services identification card; 
• United States passport or passcard; 
• NH student ID card (see more information below); 
• A photo ID not mentioned above, but determined to be legitimate by the moderator, supervisors of the checklist, or 

clerk of a town, ward or city. If any person authorized to challenge a voter does so under this provision, the voter 
shall be required to fill out a challenged voter affidavit before obtaining a ballot. 

• Verification of the voter’s identity by a moderator or supervisor of the checklist or clerk of a town, ward or city (not 
a ballot clerk). If any person authorized to challenge a voter does so under this provision, the voter shall be required 
to fill out a challenged voter affidavit before obtaining a ballot. 

 
An acceptable photo ID must have an expiration date or date of issuance. The ID will remain valid 5 years beyond the 
expiration date unless the voter is 65 or older in which case an acceptable photo ID may be used without regard to 
expiration date. The name on the ID shall substantially conform to the name on the checklist. 

 
More on student ID cards 
Acceptable student photo ID card must be issued by: 

• A college, university, or career school approved or licensed to operate in New Hampshire 
• A public high school in New Hampshire 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What if I do not have an approved photo ID? 
Any voter who does not present an approved photo ID will be permitted to vote after executing a “challenged voter affidavit”. 
A voter who does not have an approved photo ID may obtain a free photo ID for voting purposes only by presenting a 
voucher from their town/city clerk or the Secretary of State to any NH DMV office that issues identification. 
 
Is there any post-election action required by me after I vote without an approved photo ID? 
If you filled out a “challenged voter affidavit” in order to vote on Election Day, you will receive a verification letter from the 
Secretary of State requesting confirmation that you voted in the election. If you do not respond in writing to the Secretary of 
State within 90 days of the date it was mailed, the Attorney General will conduct an investigation to determine whether 
fraudulent voting occurred. 
 
Where can I get more information? Your town or city clerk or the Secretary of State. 
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More on student ID cards: 
Acceptable student photo ID cards must be issued by: 

• A college, university, or career school approved or licensed to operate in New Hampshire 
• A public high school in New Hampshire 
• A non-public high school in New Hampshire accredited by a private school accrediting agency that is 

recognized by the NH Department of Education.  
• Dartmouth College 
• A college or university operated by the university system of New Hampshire or the community college 

system of New Hampshire 
 
Beginning in 2014 all colleges or universities operated by the university system or community college system of New 
Hampshire must include the date of issuance on the student ID card. Student ID cards without a date of issuance will be 
accepted until September 1, 2018. Each August the Commissioner of the Department of Education will provide to the 
Secretary of State a list of all approved, licensed, and accredited schools from which a student ID is acceptable.  
 


